Storms of Life

Awesome story from Kim Sherer:

“One night while my young son Ryan was sleeping, a storm began brewing outside.  After a loud clap of thunder, I heard him wake up, so I headed toward his room to comfort him.  He asked me to stay with him until he fell asleep.  As I lay there, I realized he hadn’t asked me to make the storm go away, but to stay with him.  How many times, I wondered, have I asked God to take away the storms of life, when instead I need to ask him to stay with me and help me weather them more peacefully?”

Reminds me of the line from Mark Schultz’s song He Will Carry Me: “You never said it would be easy, but you said you’d see me through the storm.” And of course, I can’t leave out Casting Crowns’ hit Praise You in This Storm: “I will praise you in this storm, and I will lift my hands, for you are who you are, no matter where I am.” God is always faithful — even when we can’t see through the driving rain or hear His still small voice through the thunder, He is always there. Even if the storm doesn’t stop, we can always find refuge in Him.

Published in: on April 9, 2011 at 2:14 am  Leave a Comment  
Tags:

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://roadtothecross.wordpress.com/2011/04/09/storms-of-life/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

