Confidence

“This is how we set our hearts at rest in His presence whenever our hearts condemn us. For God is greater than our hearts, and He knows everything. Dear friends, if our hearts do not condemn us, we have confidence before God.”1st John 3:19-21.

Based on the context of the rest of the passage, I would venture to suggest a couple of word changes to make the language a little clearer (except I can’t take credit for this, because I’m pretty sure it’s stuck with me from a speaker I heard years ago. And yes, I did actually write this in my Bible with a permanent pen). In verse 21, cross out the word “if” and write “since” — and replace “do not” with “cannot.”  And throw in an exclamation mark for good measure. It should now read, “Dear friends, SINCE our hearts CANNOT condemn us, we have confidence before God!” Can’t you hear the triumph in that joyful declaration? There’s no guesswork in salvation! God is greater than our hearts — the truth overrides the self-deprecating lies that Satan plants in our hearts.  Jeremiah 17:9 warns, “The heart is deceitful in all things…who can understand it?” When we let our emotions dictate whether or not we feel secure, we throw away the promise of stability which God offers.

Confidence is the recurring theme throughout 1st John, which is perhaps why I love this book so much — reading it, I can’t help but feel empowered. “We can be confident and unashamed before Him.” “We know that we shall be like Him.” “We have confidence before God.” “We will have confidence on the day of judgment.” “There is no fear in love.” “I write so that you may know that you have eternal life.” “We know that He keeps us safe, and the evil one cannot harm us.”

Claim the promise! If you are in Christ, doubts are groundless and fear will only hold you back. Know that God is greater than your heart. Crush the uprising of doubt and let the truth have the final word!

Published in: on April 28, 2011 at 3:44 pm  Comments (2)  
Tags: ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://roadtothecross.wordpress.com/2011/04/28/confidence/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I know this is practically an ancient post by now, but I just want to thank you for being an encouragement to me tonight! I really, really needed this because Satan uses doubt, fear, and confusion so powerfully against me. Thank you for the reminder to stand firm in the Word!! ❤
    ~O 🙂

    • Olivia, so glad you found encouragement in this tonight. Strangely enough, when I went back and reread it after getting a notification of your comment, it was something I really needed to be reminded of as well. I think we can all stand to be reminded occasionally that God is for us and He is a God of peace, not confusion! Love you girl!


Leave a Reply

