Refueling

“Lead me to the cross, where Your love poured out. Bring me to my knees, Lord, I lay me down. Rid me of myself, I belong to You. And lead me, lead me to the cross.” –Hillsong

For some reason this started playing on repeat in my head. And it kind of got me to thinking. Sometimes the extrovert in me gets so caught up in being around people and building others up that I become drained and, oddly, forget about the personal aspect of my relationship with Christ. Here I have to insert a very insightful quote from my favorite book No Compromise: “Don’t get so caught up in doing the work of the Lord, that you forget the Lord of the work.” Anybody who has ever dedicated themselves to service in some way knows how easily that can happen. Sometimes my focus shifts without me even noticing, until I get super stressed and realize that I haven’t taken time to refuel.

I pray all the time for God to lead me to people that need me… but sometimes I forget to ask Him just to lead me to the cross. To lay down my baggage. To find strength from His grace. To be reminded of what this is all about, and why I’m doing what I’m doing.

Jesus wasn’t even around people all the time. He had to take time to be alone, to pray, to refuel. So what makes me think that I, an impatient, imperfect human being, can keep going and going indefinitely without pausing to rest in the presence of God? But tonight, that is exactly what I need before starting another busy week. So, Lord… lead me to the cross.

Published in: on July 9, 2011 at 9:46 pm  Leave a Comment  
Tags: ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://roadtothecross.wordpress.com/2011/07/09/refueling/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

