a day at the park with crazy love, part 1: running

Today was one of those beautiful spring days where I just had to escape to the park. I brought my Bible, my journal, and Crazy Love. Oh and a pen. As is the case with most blog posts categorized under “journal entries”, what I wrote today was not originally intended to be posted on here, so I’m not saying this to be dramatic or make myself sound awesome. Just thought I’d share my journey through the book. Here goes:

I’m realizing more and more that Crazy Love is not a book I can easily skim. I keep going back to chapters 6 and 7: “You have to stop loving and pursuing Christ in order to sin. When you are pursuing love, running toward Christ, you do not have the opportunity to wonder, ‘Am I doing this right?’ or “Did I serve enough this week?’ When you are running toward Christ, you are freed up to serve, love, and give thanks without guilt, worry, or fear.”

I feel like that’s the place in which I’ve found myself these past few weeks, like I can’t stop chasing after God long enough to consult common sense. I’m questioning myself less. Stepping out more. So excited to tackle the seemingly impossible changes in my life, because with Him everything becomes possible.

Before, the guilty question on my mind was, “How far do I have to go?” Now, the eager query burning on my heart is, “How far can I go?” So I’m running to Him, knowing now that He’s the One. All I need. Worth everything.

So I “throw off everything that hinders and the sin that so easily entangles, and run with perseverance the race marked out for me, fixing my eyes on Jesus, the goal, the author and perfecter of my faith.” He is the beginning and the end. He is over all and through all and in all. He is everything.

Published in: on January 24, 2012 at 6:20 pm  Leave a Comment  
Tags: , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://roadtothecross.wordpress.com/2012/01/24/a-day-at-the-park-with-crazy-love-part-1-running/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

