a Job 31 man

Alex Eklund, a Baylor University student, posted on his facebook that he’d “rather have a Proverbs 31 woman than a Victoria’s Secret model.” The concept exploded all over facebook with hundreds of reposts and a fan page which now has over 13,000 fans. [You can visit the facebook page here.]

Ironically enough, when the Proverbs 31 movement was at the height of its facebook popularity, I happened to stumble upon Job 31 for the first time. It’s pretty long, so for convenience sake I’ll post my paraphrase, but I encourage you to look it up yourself.

If the guys want a Proverbs 31 woman, I want a Job 31 man:

I made a covenant with my eyes not to look lustfully at a girl. Does God not see my ways and count my every step?

If I have walked in falsehood or deceit, let God weigh me in honest scales. If my steps have turned from the path, if my heart has been led by my eyes, or if my hands have been defiled, may others eat what I have sown, and may my crops be uprooted.

If my heart has been enticed by a woman, that would have been shameful, a sin to be judged. It is a fire that burns to destruction.

If I have denied justice to my servants, what will I answer when called to account? Did not the same One form us both within our mothers?

If I have denied the desires of the poor, if I have kept my bread to myself, if I have seen anyone perishing for lack of clothing and did not clothe them, if I have raised my hand against the fatherless, then let my arm be broken off.

If I have put my trust in gold as my security, I would have been unfaithful to God on high.

If I have rejoiced at my enemy’s misfortune, if I have concealed my sin and hidden guilt in my heart, if my land and my workers have cried out against me, then let briers come up instead of wheat and weeds instead of barley.

Dang. If I could condense that down into one word, it would be integrity. And a man with integrity is the kind of man I want. The Job 31 man is what I’ve been praying for my whole life.

Job 31 men are leaders to their wives. They are pillars of the church. They are the body of Christ in action.

These men are difficult to find, but “in every generation there are a few…”

Will you overturn society’s expectations and be a man of strength and character?

Will you step up and be the man your generation so desperately needs?

Will you be one of the few?

[Stay tuned for my next post on “a 31 relationship.”]

Published in: on February 8, 2012 at 2:07 am  Leave a Comment  
Tags: , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://roadtothecross.wordpress.com/2012/02/08/a-job-31-man/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

