Set Apart for Leadership

“‘For I know the plans I have for you,’ declares the Lord.”

“The Spirit of the Sovereign Lord is on me, because the Lord has anointed me to preach good news to the poor, to bind up the brokenhearted, to proclaim freedom for the captives and release from darkness for the prisoners, to proclaim the year of the Lord’s favor.”

Tonight God laid heavy on my heart the call of leadership in a way that I’d never experienced before. It was something I couldn’t ignore. I was remembering Pastor Steve’s study on the Holy Spirit from a few months ago, and how every time the Spirit comes upon someone, the result is courage to proclaim the gospel. I began praying for God to pour His Spirit out on me without restraint, to anoint me with the full measure of His power, to give me strength and courage whether I sing, pray, speak, or write, to lead others to His heart.

As I was on my knees at the altar praying, an awesome servant of God came to pray with me and for me and pray God’s Spirit and power over me. I was overwhelmed by the presence of God.

I’ve experimented with and dabbled in the role of leadership, but tonight it hit me hard, like another dimension of responsibility I haven’t experienced before. I’m at a turning point in my life: having figured out who I am, and having gotten past my own doubts and failures, I feel like tonight marks the point that my ministry has truly begun.

It may or may not have been a coincidence that as I returned to my seat, everyone was singing, “For the world You love, Lord, let Your will be done in me.” And may that be my prayer for the rest of my life.

Published in: on February 10, 2012 at 10:58 pm  Leave a Comment  
Tags: ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://roadtothecross.wordpress.com/2012/02/10/set-apart-for-leadership/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

