Snapshot from Passion 2012

Of all the incredible experiences I had at Passion back in January, of all the things I learned and the people I met, one single snapshot has stayed with me. It was really random, but it burned itself into my memory and I can still see it as clearly as I did that night.

It’s of a guy, a few rows in front me, during the Hillsong concert.

He has his phone out, recording the song. I don’t even remember what song.

As the music and the singing grow louder and more intense, his phone shakes and blurs the image as he raises his hand in the air, unable to remain still.

Then, almost frantically, alive with excitement, he gives up and slips his phone back in his pocket.

Freedom.

Up go his outstretched hands, high above his head, reaching, reaching for God. His hands, now open, now closed, now covering his heart, move with the music and the beat of the drum, emphasizing his surrender, punctuating his praise.

It is as if he is about to explode with worship so powerful he can no longer contain it. In that moment, his love for God is passion defined.

The intensity of emotion I see brings tears to my eyes.

Still.

Published in: on March 30, 2012 at 12:32 am  Leave a Comment  
Tags: , , , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://roadtothecross.wordpress.com/2012/03/30/snapshot-from-passion-2012/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

