God was moving yesterday.

It seemed like everywhere I turned yesterday, God was moving powerfully and making His presence known… and there are no deadlines in His schedule. Yesterday at Lipscomb chapel, President Lowry gave an altar call, and people started coming down to the front to pray with faculty members. We went past our dismissal time by 20 minutes, but even when we were dismissed, a lot of people stayed, singing and praying over those who had come forward. Later that evening there were 2 baptisms in the square. This just highlighted how thankful I am to be at a school where your president and your teachers know that there are more important things than being in class on time.

Yesterday evening I went to choir practice at my church. That may sound inconsequential, but I felt like God was moving there too. We started off in an unhurried time of prayer.

“Lord, let us be invisible on Sunday morning.”

“Help us not to perform but to follow your lead.”

“It’s not us, but Your Spirit in us.”

The song selection for Sunday is…intense. Some of the most powerful songs that we sing at Grace Chapel, put together into one worship service.

“You are stronger, you are stronger. Sin is broken, you have saved me. It is written, Christ is risen; Jesus, You are Lord of all.”

“Free: You captured me, I’m released from the lies that I have believed. Your truth has set me free!”

“As He stands in victory, sin’s curse has lost its grip on me. For I am His and He is mine — bought with the precious blood of Christ.”

Even practice was so powerful… I can’t wait to see what God is going to do on Sunday morning. And I can’t believe I get to be a part of it! Awesome things will be happening at Grace Chapel. I fully believe that God will change lives.

I went straight from choir practice to Sanctuary — and last night at Sanctuary was the most amazing thing I’ve ever seen.

Photo courtesy of Jake Burton, captioned: "Holy Spirit don't stop...Sanctuary with dozens being raised from the dead in JESUS!"

As usual, they began wrapping it up around 10:00, but this time Adam gave an altar call for anyone who felt the Spirit’s prompting to go down front and pray with a ministry team member. What followed was something only God could have done. People began making their way to the front, and then baptisms began. One right after another. I have never seen so much joy and celebration in one place. People were cheering, screaming, dancing, exploding in uncontainable excitement for God.

A while later, running out of songs and beginning to take requests, Adam said something that really stuck with me: “I know it’s getting late, but fortunately we serve a God who doesn’t sleep, so we’re just going to keep going!” I had to leave at 11:00 to take a friend back to school, but from what I heard later it kept going till midnight and there were about 20 baptisms.

All I can say is, THANK YOU JESUS.

What an incredible start to Easter weekend.

Published in: on April 6, 2012 at 11:41 am  Leave a Comment  
Tags: , , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://roadtothecross.wordpress.com/2012/04/06/god-was-moving-yesterday/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

