No Makeup. No Fear.

Last night I walked into the bathroom and looked at myself in the mirror. I was wearing athletic shorts, a too-big hoodie with the sleeves rolled up, a spiky messy bun, and not a bit of makeup on my face. And…I liked what I saw. For the first time in my life, I truly liked what I saw. Because I saw more than CoverGirl and Maybelline beauty; I saw my own. I didn’t see my design; I saw God’s design.

I didn’t like what I saw because my eyelashes looked long and thick, or because my skin looked smooth. I liked what I saw because there was confidence in those eyes, because the girl in the mirror was a girl who was comfortable with herself and who she is, who knows that she is unique, accepted, and loved.

A very different girl than the girl who left home two weeks ago.

There are so many little things that I don’t even consider worth writing about at the time, but they add up, and they’re changing me. Simple things like riding down the road standing in the back of a pickup, wind blowing my hair, hand on hip and aviators on face, chilling with friends and being awesome. Like the quiet moments when God opens up my eyes to something new in Scripture. Like knowing that I look ridiculous dancing, and dancing anyway. Like laughing till I cry. Like going to Sonic with a bunch of girls and just being girls. Like being around guys who treat girls right, like not wearing makeup and being okay with it. Like…knowing that I belong here.

Published in: on June 9, 2012 at 11:04 pm  Leave a Comment  
Tags: , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://roadtothecross.wordpress.com/2012/06/09/no-makeup-no-fear/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

