Social Justice

“They say, ‘Why have we fasted, and you have not seen it? Why have we humbled ourselves, and you have not noticed?’ Is this the kind of fast I have chosen? Is it only for bowing one’s head and lying on sackcloth and ashes? Is that what you call a fast, a day acceptable to the Lord? Is this not the kind of fasting I have chosen: to loose the chains of injustice and untie the cords of the yoke, to set the oppressed free and break every yoke? Is it not to share your food with the hungry and to provide the poor wanderer with shelter — when you see the naked, to clothe him, and not to turn away from your own flesh and blood? Then your light will break forth like the dawn, and your healing will quickly appear. If you do away with the yoke of oppression, with the pointing finger and malicious talk, and if you spend yourselves in behalf of the hungry and satisfy the needs of the oppressed, the Lord will guide you always; He will satisfy your needs in a sun-scorched land and will strengthen your frame. You will be like a well-watered garden, like a spring whose waters never fail.” Isaiah 58:6-11

“Do not merely listen to the word…religion that God our Father accepts as pure and faultless is this: to look after orphans and widows in their distress.” James 1:22,27

“I desire mercy, not sacrifice.” Hosea 6:6.

“If I speak in the tongues of men and angels but have not love, I am only a resounding gong or a clanging cymbal. If I have the gift of prophecy and can fathom all mysteries and all knowledge, and if I have a faith that can move mountains, but have not love, I am nothing.” 1st Corinthians 13:1-2.

“Stop bringing meaningless offerings! Your incense is detestable to me. New Moons, Sabbaths and convocations — I cannot bear your evil assemblies. Your New Moon festivals and your appointed feasts my soul hates. They have become a burden to me; I am weary of bearing them. When you spread out your hands in prayer, I will hide my eyes from you; even if you offer many prayers, I will not listen…Seek justice, encourage the oppressed. Defend the cause of the fatherless, plead the case of the widow.” Isaiah 1:14-17.

“Then the King will say, ‘Depart from me, you who are cursed. For I was hungry and you gave me nothing to eat, I was thirsty and you gave me nothing to drink, I was a stranger and you did not invite me in, I needed clothes and you did not clothe me, I was sick and in prison and you did not look after me.’ They will answer, ‘Lord, when did we see you hungry or thirsty or a stranger or needing clothes or sick or in prison, and did not help you?’ He will reply, ‘I tell you the truth, whatever you did not do for one of the least of these, you did not do for me.'” Matthew 25:41-45.

You can do all the right “churchy” things, but apparently that’s not what God cares about. He didn’t just come to redeem you

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://roadtothecross.wordpress.com/2012/09/30/social-justice/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. Thanks for the encouragement. 🙂


Leave a Reply

