there’s a constant tug-of-war.

Just a compilation of thoughts lately.

“I do not understand what I do. For what I want to do, I do not do, but what I hate, I do…the evil I do not want to do, this I keep on doing.” –Romans 7:15,19

“It would seem that Our Lord finds our desires not too strong, but too weak. We are half-hearted creatures, fooling about with drink and sex and ambition when infinite joy is offered us, like an ignorant child who wants to go on making mud pies in a slum because he cannot imagine what is meant by the offer of a holiday at the sea. We are far too easily pleased.” — C.S. Lewis

“So could you love this bastard child/Though I don’t trust you to provide/With one hand in a pot of gold/And with the other in your side./I am so easily satisfied/By the call of lovers so less wild/That I would take a little cash/Over your very flesh and blood.” –Derek Webb, Wedding Dress

“I do believe; help me overcome my unbelief!” –Mark 9:24

And I love the last quote because it so perfectly sums up the tension in which we live, without using fancy rhetoric to cover up the stupidity of it all:

“…I’m afraid that I just might run back to the things I hate.” –Tenth Avenue North, Satisfy

The other night I was talking with a friend about guys. She said, “He makes me feel insecure and devalued and disrespected…but there’s just something about him.” I couldn’t really judge, because in the past I have done the exact same thing — look past a guy’s million and one faults to the good that really isn’t there.

Isn’t that exactly what we do with the desires of the world? We chase after things we know will only hurt us, yet there is an undeniable, inexplicable draw to the things we hate the most. We don’t want it, but we do want it, so very much. We can’t tell you why, but the desire is there. As Christians, we live in constant tension with the world. The question is, will we rise above it all, or will we continue to enslave ourselves? Will we give in to the deception of our hearts, or cling to what we know is worth it?

Published in: on October 6, 2012 at 7:01 pm  Leave a Comment  
Tags: , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://roadtothecross.wordpress.com/2012/10/06/theres-a-constant-tug-of-war/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

