I’m Going to Scotland!

Dearest readers,

I just took a big step of faith and committed to going on a mission trip to Dundee, Scotland, over spring break, where I will be sharing my faith with students at a high school. As many of you know, I’m studying youth ministry here at Lipscomb, so this trip is perfectly in line with my calling, and it was totally a God thing how it was unexpectedly handed to me. I would love your prayers for this trip, but I’m also going to be real and say that I need financial support. I need to raise $1600 in the next 4 weeks, and I believe that God can do that and more. If you have a heart for service but are unable to go yourself, you can participate in this trip in a very real way by offering your spiritual and financial support. HOWEVER there is no pressure to give if you have other obligations. I will not think less of you, and we will still be friends. If you would like to, however, there are 2 ways to give.By check:
Make check out to Lipscomb University. On the “for” line, write Lauren Calvin — Dundee. Mail the check to:
Missions
Lipscomb University
1 University Park Dr.
Nashville, TN 37204

Online:
Go to http://www.lipscomb.edu/Missions/ and click on the second box, “give”. For “type of gift”, select donation. For “team name” select “UK — Dundee.” After filling out your personal information, click “next step,” which will take you to a page where you can fill in your credit card information.

Whether you have the opportunity to give or not, please keep me and the rest of the team in your thoughts and prayers as we seek to make God known in the UK and invite these precious students to participate in His beautiful story.

I do want to share with you an amazing way that God has already answered prayers. Yesterday, right after I made an appointment to apply for my passport and committed to going, I received this message:

scotland

In Joshua 3, God parted the waters of the Jordan River for his people to pass…but not until their feet touched the edge of the water during flood stage. I took the step of faith, and God started building the bridge. Can’t wait to see what will happen in the next few weeks!

If you would like to join the facebook event and receive updates and prayer requests, you can access it here.

Published in: on February 7, 2013 at 1:46 pm  Leave a Comment  
Tags: , , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://roadtothecross.wordpress.com/2013/02/07/im-going-to-scotland/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

