graphomen

Graphomen.  It’s a great little Greek word that looks like this: γραφωμεν.

Fun fact: If I ever got a tattoo, that’s what it would be, on my left wrist.  (I love the permanence of the concept, but I’m not so sure about the permanence of the ink.)

Why?  What does it mean?

γραφωμεν simply means, “We write.”

Who writes?  God does.  I do.  We both write, together.

I’ve always loved paper — the way it feels, the way it smells, the cleanness and smoothness of it.  I’ve always loved to write by hand; that’s how I process my thoughts.  Even my class notes bear witness to my love of pen and ink, with painstakingly bolded words, side comments carefully set off in little boxes, and headings bordered with flowers.  I’ve journaled since I was six years old.  But even then, I couldn’t stand to mess up a page.  If I made a mistake, I would tear out the page and rewrite everything just so I wouldn’t have a scribble marring the creamy perfection of my spotless page.  It’s taken me years to get over that OCD tendency.  In fact, I just succumbed to the temptation last week, rewriting two whole pages because I wrote something stupid.

My life has always been a whole lot like that, too.  I was always mortified by mistakes and wanted to rip out those pages, burn my bridges, and start over with a clean sheet of paper.  I always had a desperate desire to be in control.  Life doesn’t work that way, though.  I realized that the more I tried to take control, the messier my story got.

So last January, I surrendered the pen to the Author and asked Him to write my life story.  Since then, I’ve stood back and watched in awe as the rich ink filled the pages with beauty and purpose.  Instead of trying to write my own story and fix my own conflicts, I just got to read it, eagerly anticipating the turn of each new page.  It’s a mystery, it’s an adventure, it’s a comedy, it’s a romance.  It’s taken me places I didn’t expect.  But it’s one of the most beautiful stories I’ve ever had the privilege to read.

And on my journey, I get to share bits and pieces of my story with you.  A long time ago, I felt like God was telling me that He had given me a gift for writing so I could use it for Him.  Thus, this blog was born.  It’s just the account of my journey.  What He writes in my story, what He writes on my heart, I write on my blog to show you what He can do through an ordinary person like me.

Please take a minute to watch this video, I promise it’s worth your time:

 

I took a break from blogging for about a month because it had become more about me than about Him.  I’m a little embarrassed to say that it had become a way for me to receive affirmation from the blogging world based on how many views it got.  I had turned my gift into an idol, and I really just needed to “clear the stage.”  But I’m back now; He’s busy writing, and He’s asking me to pick up my pen again to share what He’s doing.

γραφωμεν.  He writes.  I write.  We write…together.

And so the story continues….

Published in: on February 18, 2013 at 9:56 pm  Leave a Comment  
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://roadtothecross.wordpress.com/2013/02/18/graphomen/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

