A Prayer for Peace

IMG_9076 - Copy

I began writing this prayer several months ago, and only just now finished it. I was struggling to convey my desire for hospitality of the heart as well of the home, but this concept has long been dear to me. When I worked at a Christian camp a year and a half ago, I would begin every week by praying peace over the cabin and over each bed where my campers would sleep.

When I read this post by Joanne Kraft, it touched my heart even more deeply. This is the type of home I long to have, where peace reigns and dissension has no place, where the Spirit of God is tangible and everyone who enters can sense that my home and my life are surrendered to a God of peace. In the midst of the chaos, I want my home to be a place where life slows down and can be seen for the beautiful gift it is. So without further explanation, I pray peace for myself and peace for each of you:

Wherever your will leads me, Lord, wherever I travel and wherever I settle,

Let your peace be found there.

In any place in which I make my home,

Let your peace be found there.

In the spiritual highs,

Let your peace be found there.

In the dark night of the soul,

Let your peace be found there.

Grace each room of my home with your presence, Lord,

Let your peace be found there.

On the threshold, for everyone that enters

Let your peace rest there

And your presence be tangibly felt.

In the living room, where community and conversation and laughter abound,

Let your joy abide there.

In the kitchen, where meals are served around a table of grateful hearts,

Let your joy abide there.

In each bedroom, where rest brings renewal,

Let your peace be found there.

Make my home a place of healing for the broken,

And my heart an inviting place where those who need love can rest in transparency.

Let your peace be found in me.

Give me a spirit of gentleness and hospitality as I seek to bring your Kingdom to earth.

Wherever I go, Lord, and wherever I encounter others,

Let your peace be found there.

Published in: on November 20, 2013 at 11:26 pm  Comments (1)  
Tags: , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://roadtothecross.wordpress.com/2013/11/20/a-prayer-for-peace/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. Well written, beautiful thoughts! Thank you!


Leave a Reply

