Generations

Families have their own special brand of awkward, this is true. But they also have their own brand of awesome, and as I’ve gotten older, this is what I’ve begun to see.

For the first time in several years, my whole family on my dad’s side got together in Davie, FL, to celebrate Thanksgiving together. I began to take some pictures to capture the family resemblance between generations, loving the beauty of these individual shots. Click any of the pictures to see them full size.

A 73-year-old husband, father, grandfather, and now great-grandfather. Quiet and unassuming, I think this pose beautifully captures a long and full life:

IMG_1886

His 45-year-old son, my dad’s little brother, with the piercing blue eyes so characteristic of the Calvins:

IMG_2103

And my dad, 50 years old and graying on the sides, just as handsome and as fun-loving as always. As I write this, he just walked in the room with a small tin and said, “Hey dad, here’s your antique condoms. Haha, just kidding, it’s pomade.” And they shared in the characteristic father-son laugh that’s always funnier than the joke itself.

IMG_1878

I couldn’t resist putting their pictures together into a collage which shows the family resemblance:

PicMonkey Collage

And here’s the three of them together:

IMG_2118

I love this set of pictures because they so perfectly capture the individuality-in-community which family represents. Separate lives, unique stories, yet irrevocably intertwined. We are all a part of one another, shaped by those who touch us, growing older, always the same and yet never the same.

 

 

 

Published in: on November 29, 2013 at 3:51 pm  Comments (1)  
Tags: , , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://roadtothecross.wordpress.com/2013/11/29/generations/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. Beautiful–or should I say handsome–portraits! As a dad of two daughters close to your age (24 & 19 soon to be 20), I’m always thrilled to see daughters close to their fathers and family members. Thanks for sharing!


Leave a Reply

